Coinbase rolls out Morpho-based USDC earning to Brazil
Coinbase says DeFi Earn is progressively reaching eligible Brazilian customers, routing USDC from self-custodial wallets into Steakhouse-curated Morpho vaults on Base with no lock-up.
Source-checked briefing: prepared from the official notice cited below and checked for source, date, duplication, and risk language. No individual editor review is claimed. Methodology
Coinbase announced on September 9, 2026 that DeFi Earn, its USDC earning product built on an integration with Morpho, is progressively rolling out to eligible customers in Brazil, with availability expanding over the coming days. Users allocate USDC through the Lending tab in the Coinbase app; funds are routed from self-custodial wallets to Morpho on Base and into vaults curated by Steakhouse Financial, where they accrue rewards until withdrawn. The source states there are no lock-up periods and customers can withdraw at any time. It does not establish any required action for readers.
- 01
Coinbase announced on September 9, 2026 that DeFi Earn is progressively rolling out to eligible customers in Brazil, with availability expanding over the coming days.
- 02
Users allocate USDC via the Lending tab in the Coinbase app, and Coinbase routes the deposit to the Morpho protocol on Base.
- 03
Funds go into vaults curated by Steakhouse Financial, described in the post as audited, where USDC accrues rewards until withdrawn.
Key timeline
Coinbase publishes the announcement that DeFi Earn is rolling out to eligible customers in Brazil.
Availability of DeFi Earn expands progressively to eligible customers in Brazil.
Who may be affected
- Eligible Coinbase customers in Brazil, as determined by Coinbase
- Coinbase One subscribers in Brazil, who the post says receive a boosted rate where available
Impact analysis
For eligible Brazilian customers, the confirmed operational change is an added option in the Coinbase app's Lending tab: allocating USDC routes it from a self-custodial wallet to Morpho on Base and into Steakhouse Financial-curated vaults, where it accrues rewards until withdrawal. The source states there is no lock-up and withdrawal is possible at any time, so participation is described as opt-in and reversible at the user's discretion. Rates are described as market-driven and variable, and a boosted rate is mentioned for Coinbase One subscribers where available. The post does not state that any existing balance, account, or service is modified, and it does not describe effects on USDC held outside this product. Readers outside the eligible Brazilian customer group are not assigned any operational change by the source.
What the announcement does not say
The source does not disclose the exact eligibility criteria, the full list of supported regions beyond Brazil, specific APY figures for Brazil, fee treatment, the withdrawal mechanics or processing times, or what happens to rewards if the vault or protocol parameters change.
Risk notes
- The source states rates are market-driven and adjust over time based on onchain supply and demand, so any rate mentioned is not fixed.
- The post describes the vaults as audited but does not describe the underlying risks of routing funds to an onchain lending protocol or of borrower behavior.
- The source does not state whether deposits are insured, guaranteed, or protected against loss.
- Eligibility is determined by Coinbase and is not fully specified in the source, so availability may differ among Brazilian customers.
- This article is for verifying official exchange announcements only and does not constitute investment or trading advice.
This article is for information only and is not investment, legal, or tax advice. Digital assets are volatile and may result in loss of principal.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need to do anything because of this announcement?
The source does not establish any required action. It describes an opt-in product available to eligible customers in Brazil through the Lending tab; it does not say existing accounts, balances, or services change.
Is there a lock-up period or a fixed rate?
The post states there are no lock-up periods and customers can withdraw at any time. It also states rates are market-driven and adjust over time based on onchain supply and demand, so no fixed rate is established.
Where exactly do the funds go?
According to the post, funds are routed from customers' self-custodial wallets to Morpho, an onchain lending protocol on Base, and then into vaults curated by Steakhouse Financial, where they accrue rewards until withdrawn.
Who is eligible, and when is it available?
The source says DeFi Earn is progressively rolling out now to eligible customers in Brazil, with availability expanding over the coming days. It does not publish the specific eligibility criteria.
Official sources
Collected material is used only for fact checking. If this page differs from the original announcement, the official page controls.