Kraken

Kraken Borrow US launches in 48 states, excluding NY and ME

Kraken's new spot margin product lets eligible US customers buy crypto beyond their USD balance, with up to 3x buying power and no repayment deadline.

Source-checked briefing: prepared from the official notice cited below and checked for source, date, duplication, and risk language. No individual editor review is claimed. Methodology

Kraken: Kraken Borrow US launches in 48 states, excluding NY and ME
Direct answer

Kraken launched Kraken Borrow US on September 24, 2026, enabling eligible customers in 48 states to buy crypto beyond their USD cash balance. The product combines a spot trade using USD and a spot margin trade for the borrowed portion on CFTC-regulated rails. Buying power is up to 3x the value of eligible assets, with 27 trading pairs supported at launch. The source does not establish any required action for existing users; it describes an optional feature that requires a one-time setup including e-signing to open a Kraken Derivatives US account.

Announcement visual briefKraken
KrakenBorrow
Event at a glance
  1. 01

    Kraken Borrow US is available in 48 states; New York and Maine are excluded.

  2. 02

    Eligible customers can buy crypto beyond their USD balance, with buying power up to 3x the value of eligible assets.

  3. 03

    The product combines a spot trade using cash and a spot margin trade for the borrowed portion on CFTC-regulated rails.

Built from the official exchange announcement and verified facts in this article. Check the source page for final timing and scope.

Key timeline

Kraken announces the launch of Kraken Borrow US for eligible US customers in 48 states.

Who may be affected

  • Eligible US customers in 48 states (excluding New York and Maine) who want to buy crypto beyond their USD balance.
  • Customers with over $10 million in total investments under applicable commodities law are not eligible.

Impact analysis

For eligible US customers, Kraken Borrow US introduces an optional way to buy crypto using borrowed funds when a purchase exceeds their USD balance. The borrowed portion is executed as a spot margin trade on CFTC-regulated rails, with buying power up to 3x the value of eligible assets. Purchases within the USD balance remain regular spot trades with no borrowing. The product has no repayment deadline or minimum payment, but the crypto purchased with borrowed funds is locked as security and cannot leave the platform while a balance is outstanding. A borrow health status (Healthy, Caution, At risk) is displayed, and automatic selling of crypto may occur if the position deteriorates. All costs—trade fee, borrow opening fee, and daily interest—are shown before confirmation. The source does not indicate any impact on users outside the eligible scope or on existing services.

What the announcement does not say

The source does not disclose the exact interest rates, borrow fee amounts, or the full list of eligible collateral assets. It also does not specify the process for setting up the Kraken Derivatives US account beyond e-signing, or the precise conditions that trigger automatic selling.

Risk notes

  • Spot margin trading involves substantial risk; losses may exceed the initial investment and the value of collateral deposited.
  • You may be required to provide additional collateral on short notice or no notice, and you may remain responsible for any deficiency after liquidation.
  • Automatic selling of crypto may occur if the position deteriorates, potentially realizing losses.
  • The crypto purchased with borrowed funds is locked as security and cannot be transferred out while a balance is outstanding.
  • Leverage significantly increases risk; trading should be undertaken only with risk capital.
  • This article is for verifying official exchange announcements only and does not constitute investment or trading advice.

This article is for information only and is not investment, legal, or tax advice. Digital assets are volatile and may result in loss of principal.

Frequently asked questions

Who is eligible for Kraken Borrow US?

Eligible US customers in 48 states, excluding New York and Maine, and excluding those with over $10 million in total investments under applicable commodities law.

What fees are associated with Kraken Borrow US?

The source lists a trading fee (waived for Kraken+ members up to $10k in trading volume per month), a borrow opening fee, and daily interest. Exact amounts are not disclosed.

How do I repay a borrow?

Repay anytime from the Borrow Center with no deadline or minimum payment. Pay with USD for free, or by selling any asset you hold, which incurs a conversion fee.

What happens if my borrow health deteriorates?

The source states that a warning is issued if asset values fall enough to threaten the position, and if it deteriorates further, some crypto may be sold automatically to cover what you owe.

Official sources

  1. Spend more than your cash balance: introducing Kraken Borrow for US customers

Collected material is used only for fact checking. If this page differs from the original announcement, the official page controls.